Great Gluten Free and Dairy Free Pancake Recipe-Revision #2

I had my liquids and rice flour in error, sorry… please use the recipe below…. It yields 12 pancakes… thanks.

I know this post is not poetic or literary, but maybe some readers will enjoy the recipe as well as the blog’s poetry and other posts.

I have been making pancakes for many years, all kinds, banana, strawberry, blueberry, buckwheat, whole wheat… But lately I needed to come up with a gluten and dairy free recipe, so after experimenting a bit, I came up with a pancake recipe that really works…

Ingredients:

1 cup – orange juice
1 cup – almond milk
1 egg plus 2 egg whites
4 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/4 cup buckwheat flour
1/4 cup almond flour
1/2 cup rice flour.

Preparation:
Mix all dry ingredients together in a large bowl.
Separately mix the orange juice and almond milk
Separately mix the eggs together
Add the mixed eggs to the orange juice and almond milk mixture
Stir in the resulting liquid mixture to the dry mixture until well blended, I use a large fork.

Cooking:
I have found using an electric griddle give me even heat and predictable results. I grease the griddle with a little canola or olive oil, then pre-heat to 300 degrees. I ladle the batter onto the griddle in about 3 inch pancakes. Cook until slightly browned, then turn over and cook the other side until slightly browned.

Eating:
I strongly recommend using 100% maple syrup with your pancakes with a little margarine. I know it costs more, but you really use less than “pancake” or “breakfast” syrup. For me the cheapest maple syrup is better than any other syrup. Note, I estimate that each pancake has about 3 grams of fiber, for those of you who are counting fiber.

About Don Segal

See Commentary, Photos, Drawings and Poetry on my blog at donsegal.wordpress.com.
Gallery | This entry was posted in diet, Gluten Free, recipe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Great Gluten Free and Dairy Free Pancake Recipe-Revision #2

  1. Bill J says:

    my mother in law is on a gluten free diet and will appreciate this!

  2. Susie has made us some gluten free pancakes. Not sure how the two recipes compare, but for anyone who hasn’t tried gluten free ones, don’t be as skeptical as I was. They are quite good.

Leave a Reply

